Funeral service is an honorable and vital profession that provides an essential service under extremely difficult circumstances.

Families rely on funeral directors for support during times of emotional distress, as well as for advice and expertise.

In fact, according to a Gallop Poll of consumers, funeral directors are ranked among the top ten most trusted professionals.

The Tribute Foundation has established a number of professional and continuing education scholarships.

The Foundation strives to increase the number of new funeral service professionals by providing educational scholarships to current and future funeral service professionals by encouraging existing licensed funeral directors to return to funeral service; encouraging funeral service as a second career; and providing financial scholarships as appropriate.

2021 Scholarship Honorees

2021 Samuel Q. Baxter Scholarship

  • Jessica McElligott | American Academy McAllister Institute

2021 R. Barry McPhillips Scholarship

  • Samuel Covington | Granby’s Funeral Service, Inc.

2021 Franklin O.L. Steinberg Scholarship

  • Frank Fragapane | SUNY Canton
  • Miranda Mejia | SUNY Canton
  • Ashley Love | Hudson Valley Community College

Our Scholarships

Franklin O.L. Steinberg Scholarship

Established in 2018. Provides financial support to qualified mortuary science students who reside in the state of New York and are enrolled in accredited mortuary science programs. Eligibility includes first – and second – year students, online students, and students working toward a Bachelor of Science degree in the Mortuary Science field of study.

Please Note: The application requires a 5-minute video. If this requirement is a hardship, we are willing to schedule a video conference with the Scholarship Committee in early June. Please notate that on your application.

We are no longer accepting applications; the deadline was May 31, 2021.

Samuel Q. Baxter Scholarship Award

Established in 1985. Provides financial assistance to qualified students in their second year of a mortuary science program.

R. Barry McPhillips Scholarship Award

Established in 2001. Assists the continuing education efforts of recently licensed and early-career funeral directors.

New York State Tribute Foundation is a tax exempt 501(c)(3) organization. Individual contributions are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law.
All contributors will be recognized as part of the Tribute Foundation’s donor recognition program.

NYS Tribute Foundation
2021. All rights reserved.